Skip to content

December 2011

January 3, 2012

I’m so proud that I’m getting this up so soon after November’s post -woo hoo!

December started just like any other month, but I remember very clearly when I put our new calendar up on the fridge there was a big twinkle in my eye when I started to write “fly to KC” on it.  We were very excited to end the month with my family for Christmas!

Anna is so creative- here she is with her blocks.  She has two sets and plays with both often.  On the left we have a dog (with an extremely long neck), and on the right she made a person out of her circles and half-circles.  She’s always so proud of her work- I love it.

Emily had two firsts in the same day:  her first cold & fever along with her first big-girl bath.  You wouldn’t know it from the picture but she was so congested that I needed to give her a vapor bath, and I knew the baby tub wouldn’t cut it.  She loved it, though- super cute!

Anna & Jack had a Christmas show at their preschool- it was adorable.   Here’s Jack with his teacher, our beloved Rosy (we love her so much!).

After the show the kids got to line up and talk to Santa.  To my surprise, Anna was super excited to talk to him this year, and she didn’t shed a tear.  If I had known, I’d have taken her to the mall for some more “pro” shots, but I didn’t want to risk it after prior experiences.  Jack followed suit- he saw Anna go up and talk to him, so up he went.

In a whirlwind of a weekend we found ourselves short one tenor sax and up one piano! I sold my tenor sax from my college years and we put the money towards a used electric piano.  It’s not a dream piano, for sure, but it is nice to have a piano of some sort in the house. I’m slowly getting my fingers back, and the kids love it.  Sharing is a new focus now- can you imagine why?

When we left for KC the trip was surprisingly easy.  Packing was actually the most stressful part- the kids were awesome.  All three flew like pros, and I’m hoping we changed a few child-less people’s minds about kids and traveling- they were so well-behaved.  As soon as we got there it was time to jump into introducing Miss Em to her KC family.  Here she is meeting her two aunts (neither of them liked her very much):

Anna was delighted to find out that her cousin, Paul, had a tea set to play with.  They had tea at least twice.  Jack just played along.  We did have to remind Anna that crackers do not go in the teapot. 🙂

Of course, Em was very happy to see her Papa and Grandma Shearer, and they were happy to play with her.

Here are “the big kids” on Christmas Eve just after church.  It’s really hard to get three wired kids to stand still, smile, and look at the camera all together.

Christmas morning was awesome- Anna was so excited, and Jack was so oblivious.  He caught on pretty quickly.  They received so many wonderful presents from our family- lucky kids!

Jack in some “boogie monster” legs- can’t wait until it shows up in the box we shipped back to SD.  And Anna is very excited to dress up like a pirate.

Some other random pics from our visit.  My mom reading the kids “Twas the Night Before Christmas” on Christmas Eve, Em hangin’ with Papa’s shoes, Em & her Daddy, and the kids enjoying milkshakes and a movie at the same table my sisters and I used when we were little.

Anna made cookies with my sister, Lea Ann.  Lea Ann is a master cookie maker, and was so sweet with Anna- she let her do WAY more than I do in the kitchen.  It was a good lesson for me to let her do more.

Our time with Paul was cut short because he got a double-whammy of sickness- boo!  Croup and a stomach virus makes for a very unhappy camper and very unhappy parents.  Someday we will visit KC and everyone will stay healthy.  Someday.

Lastly, Anna and I opened a can with a “message bean” in it.  I think I received it as a gift when she was a baby, and I have just never opened it.  Now that she’s old enough to appreciate it, we’re going to see what happens.  It’s supposed to grow a bean that says “I love you.”  We’ll see…

Happy 2012!

One Comment leave one →
  1. dancing permalink
    January 16, 2012 5:47 am

    hi. me again! oh my goodness i LOVE all the latest photos. what a beautiful family you have. and that anna… so adorable. her outfit, the one she’s wearing in your blog’s banner images… i want to copy that outfit exactly, from the jaunty hat down to the pink boots. love the striped shirt, denim skirt, and leggings too. looks so comfy. i love her style and how energetic and happy she and all your little ones look in all the pics. i’m glad you’re updating this blog too. yay i love it when i have time to catch up with my fav blogs!!! =)

Leave a Reply

